top of page
  • Writer's pictureA Library of One's Own

From Poet to Poet


I found this collection of poetry, "Speak to Us of Love" (1959), at a church book sale. I am not the most avid reader, and am not sure why I picked it up. However, upon opening it, I found a letter inside. The letter was from the poet themselves, responding to a letter sent by the person who bought this volume, a Sarah Hansen. It turns out Hansen was a poet herself, and had just won a poetry competition. Young congratulates her fellow poet, and shares the inspirations behind some of the poems in this collections. I like to imagine that these two women maintained a correspondence, supporting each other and their poetry. For me, finding this letter added a depth of understanding and appreciation for the poems in this collections, and made this book all the more special.

by Rosemary Hall

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Association Copy

Reading habits are strange. I associate some pieces I have read with particular pieces of music (Howard's End and Barber's Adagio for Strings; the poetry of Walt Whitman and the music of Aaron Copland

bottom of page